Barrie Community Association (BCA)

The purpose of the Barrie Community Association (BCA) is to build and sustain a vibrant, active school community by promoting partnership, cooperation, communication and school spirit among students, parents, faculty, staff, alumni and the wider Barrie community.

Membership in the BCA is automatic for everyone in the Barrie Community: parents, faculty, staff, trustees, students, and alumni. The BCA is managed by a board of elected volunteers: two co-chairs (from different divisions of the school), a secretary and a treasurer. The BCA Executive Committee also includes five division representatives and the co-chairs of the Spring Fundraiser. In addition, each class or grade within the school is supported by one or more Class/Grade representatives who serve as conduits for information between the BCA Executive Committee and the parent members.

There are many ways to support Barrie through the BCA:

  1. Volunteer as a Class/Grade Rep - Support the teachers and students directly by organizing classroom events and communicating with parents.
  2. Serve on the BCA Executive Committee - Serve as a Division Rep or one of the elected positions. Attend meetings once a month and vote on BCA plans, policies and budget decisions.
  3. Volunteer for a BCA Program or Event - Organize one of the many BCA Events and Programs. 

BCA EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Shekhar Tamasker

shekhart@yahoo.com

BCA Co-Chair

240-643-0372

 

 

Janet Rutledge

janet.c.rutledge@gmail.com

BCA Co-Chair

301-384-3220

 

 

Chris Whalen

whalen@researchdata.us

Treasurer

301-949-3697  

 

 

Tamara Chrisler

tamara@chrisler.net

Secretary

301-430-0757

 

 

Lisa Otterström

lisaotterstrom@gmail.com

Upper School Division Rep

301-793-3341

 

 

Rebecca Adam

rja918@hotmail.com

Middle School Division Rep

240-461-2967

 

 

Becky Tu-Sekine

btusekine@icloud.com

Upper Elementary Division Rep

301-598-3837

 

 

Diane Tran

diane_tran2003@yahoo.com

Lower Elementary Division Rep

301-324-9628

 

 

Sekeno Aldred

sekeno@gwu.edu

Primary Division Rep

301-317-5954

 

 

Terri-Lynn Torrez

tltorrez@gmail.com

Spring Fundraiser Co-Chair

301-438-3607

 

 

Becky Tu-Sekine

btusekine@icloud.com

Spring Fundraiser Co-Chair

301-598-3837




 

 For a complete list of all class/grade reps and committee chairs see the BCA Contact List.